Robofest, hosted by Lawrence Technological University in Southfield, MI, is a festival of competitions and events with autonomous robots that encourages students to have fun while learning principles of STEAM and Computer Science including AI. Students design, construct, and program the robots. Any robotics kits are allowed in the construction of robots. Robots can be programmed with any programming language. Robofest programs support Computer Science for All.

Teams compete in the Junior (grades 5-8), Senior (grades 9-12), and College divisions. RoboParade (Junior Division only) includes 4th grade. Student teams, composed of up to 5 members each, can participate in a variety of events. Click on the logo to go to the category page:

Game Logo

Accomplish robotics missions using fully autonomous robots. Robofest Game especially puts math skills to the test

 Exh logo wo RF

Each team has complete freedom to show off any creative computer programmed robotics R&D project

RoboMed logo thumb

Middle School, High School, and College teams create intelligent and interactive medical robotics/device projects


Vision Centric Challenge. Advanced category for high school students


Be the first robot to push intentionally a bottle off the table OR be the last robot remaining on the table. (Level: beginners)


A parade of autonomous robotic floats (Level: beginners)

RoboArts logo thumb

RoboArts (Formerly GRAF). Robotic Music, Fashion & Dance, Robotic Painting, and Interactive Kinetic Sculptures


Unknown Mission Challenge: Mission tasks will be totally unknown until the day of competition


Hands-on workshops + mini competitions


World conference on Integrated STEaM Education through Robotics


Since 1999, over 31,000 students have competed in Robofest, including teams from 18 United States and the countries of Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, England, France, Ghana, GreeceHong Kong, Hungary, India, Jordan, KenyaLebanon, Macau, Malawi, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Philippines, RomaniaSaudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Taiwan, and UAE.